Bolton Library and Museum Services

Reading Friends

Reading Friends aims to bring people together to share stories, make new friends and have fun through reading books, magazines and newspapers. Anything that encourages people to chat.

Reading Friends is a Reading Agency programme created with funding from the National Lottery Community Fund, Scottish Book Trust, Literature Wales and Verbal in Northern Ireland.

Find out more about the national project here: https://readingfriends.org.uk/

Book Title Bingo

Fill in the blanks to name the title of the book eg. 39 _

Each _ represents a word. Just the title needed, not the author.

Catch _ _                                _ 77

100 _ _ _                                20,000 _ _ _ _

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ 13 3/4               206 _

4.50 _ _                                   84 _ _ _

50 _ _ _                                   _ _ _ _ 40 _

39 Steps                                  _ _ _ _ 3

1022 _ _                                  7 _ _ _

_ _ _ 2 _                                  3 _ _ _ _

Print off the page or write your answers on a separate sheet of paper and hand in to any Bolton library before the 21st March.

 

Reading Friends Spring is in the air...

Thursday 12 March 2020 from 6-8pm

Join us at Bolton Central Library as we celebrate the start of Spring at our Reading Friends event with songs, poems and prose performed by Bolton Little Theatre.

You can also join us for a few games of Book Title Bingo and a chance to win a prize!

Book your free ticket on Eventbrite

Light refreshments provided. Want to know more? Ring 01204 332853 and ask for Charlotte or Vivian or email libraries@bolton.gov.uk

  

Breightmet Library Reading Friends

Meets on the first Thursday of every month from 2pm - 3pm

An informal group who meet to share stories over a brew and biscuit. An opportunity to listen, chat and relax with our Volunteers Rosemarie and Linda and all the Friends.

Have you read something interesting? Bring it along to share. Just want to listen? That's fine too.  

So far we've celebrated National Poetry Day, discussed childhood books and memories and shared Christmas stories. 

Want to know more? Email libraries@bolton.gov.uk or ring 01204 332853 and ask for Vivian. Or just come along to a meeting to say hello and try it out!  

Dates for 2020

No January meeting

Thursday 6 February - "Relationships: friends, family, loves".

Thursday 5 March - "Poetry"

Thursday 2 April

Thursday 7 May

Thursday 4 June

Thursday 2 July

Thursday 6 August

Thursday 4 September

Thursday 1 October

Thursday 5 November

Thursday 3 December  

Central Library Reading Friends 

Meets on the second Friday of every month from 2pm – 3pm

An informal group who meet to share stories over a brew and biscuit. An opportunity to listen, chat and relax with our Volunteer Jane and all of the Friends.

Read something interesting? Bring it along to share. Just want to listen? That's fine too. 

Topics covered in 2019 include memories of childhood reads, “Surprising” reads, "Light and Dark", film and tv tie ins, stories about Nature and Winter.

Want to know more? Email libraries@bolton.gov.uk or ring 01204 332853 and ask for Charlotte or Vivian. Or just come along to a meeting to say hello and try it out! 

Dates for 2020

Friday 10 January - "Scotland"

Friday 14 February  - "Tales from the Sea"

Friday 13 March - "Biographies, memoirs, autobiographies"

Friday 17 April

Friday 15 May

Friday 12 June

Friday 10 July

Friday 14 August

Friday 11 September

Friday 9 October

Friday 13 November

Friday 11 December